$33.00 USD

An account already exists with this email address. Is this you?

Sign in

VISIONARY COLOUR with Laurence Caruana

Friday December 2, 2022

TIME

  • Friday December 2nd

    1-4pm Eastern

    10am-1pm Pacific

    7pm-10pm CEST

    5am-8am AEDT (+1day)

  • *Please check your local time zones.  

 

What is visionary colour?

In this visual presentation, my aim is to transmit to you new ways of seeing colour, which I learned while working with my master Ernst Fuchs in his Apocalypse Chapel in southern Austria. Through a series of examples - many from the chapel itself - we’ll visualize how highly-saturated colours harmonize and blend in the eye, creating (what Ernst Fuchs called) ‘colour space.’ With this new way of seeing, we can begin to translate light and shadow across the colour spectrum, following either warm or cold paths, to arrive at a fully harmonized work. 

We’ll also reconsider some of the fundamentals of colour theory, by reviewing how polychromy and spectral colour have developed from the time of the Impressionists to contemporary Psychedelic and Visionary Artists. With a series of examples from Robert Venosa (light crystalline spectra) to Alex Grey (saturated spectra) and then onto more recent practitioners like Amanda Sage, Jonathan Solter and myself, we’ll get a rich eyeful of examples on how visionary colour has evolved.

Practical tips will also be offered on how to build up brightness in a layered painting, and which pigments to use while working with spectral colour.  

Suggested Materials 

You’re welcome to bring a sketchbook, as well coloured pencils or water colours, to take notes and make quick sketches, but we won’t be doing any specific exercises.